NLN Award Recipients

Danielle Gray


Dorothy Wyle Graduate Education Award

Danielle Gray is a Registered Nurse who works in professional conduct. Danielle has experience in scheduling, general surgery, infectious diseases and Public Health. She is nearing completion of her of Master of Nursing – Health Systems Leadership and Administration degree at the University of Toronto. Her goal is to enact change as a leader in Canadian healthcare system and nursing profession. Danielle also has diplomas in marketing and business administration. She has a keen interest in mentorship, professional practice, health care leadership, health policy, public health and infectious diseases.

Caroline Variath


NLN.ON Research Award

Caroline Variath is a PhD candidate in nursing with a collaborative specialization in bioethics at the University of Toronto. She teaches undergraduate nursing students at the University of New Brunswick and Humber IATL collaborative Bachelor of Nursing program. During her 16-year nursing career, she experienced end-of-life care needs of patients often being overlooked, especially for those with a loss of decision-making capacity. Her overall goals are to improve the care that patients receive at the end of life. As such, her PhD thesis focuses on experiences with the loss of capacity to consent and access to medical assistance in dying in Canada. The findings from her study will inform policies and guidelines concerning advance consent for MAiD and end-of-life care in Canada and globally. She believes strong nursing leadership is necessary to changing society’s and healthcare providers’ perceptions of death as a failure and improving the end-of-life experience for patients and their families.

Undergraduate Nursing Education

2020 Lalezar Tuner
2018 Victoria Maich

Nursing Leadership Innovation Seed Grant

2020 Sarabeth Silver
2018 Rani Srivastava

Sue Matthews Exemplary Mentorship

2018 Gillian Strudwick
2016 Cindy Fajardo

NLN.ON Research

2021 Caroline Variath
2019 Leanne Jeffs
2017 Gillian Strudwick
2016 Sheila Boamah
2015 Barbara Chyzzy
2014 Zubeida Ramji
2013 Winnie Sun
2012 Kristine Newman
2011 Christine Jonas-Simpson
2010 Barbara Jones

Full Time

2017 Ash Alywin
2016 Alexandra Harris
2015 Crystal Frenette
2013 Leigh Chapman
2012 Jenni Glad Timmons
2011 Winnie Sun
2010 Barbara Chyzzy

Dorothy Wylie Fellowship

2021 Danielle Gray
2020 Katie Chapman
2019 Zohra Surani
2017 Angel He Wang
2016 Sherry Daigle
2015 Margaret Saari
2014 Emily Read
2013 Zubeida Ramji
2012 Michelle Foulkes
2011 Susan Bookey-Bassett
2010 Donna Rawlin

Student Nurse Education

2016 Krista Sferrazza
2015 Angel He Wang
2014 Monika Dalmacio
2013 Kristen Reid
2012 Emily Read
2011 Kate St. Amand
2010 Philiz Goh

Education Grant Part-Time

2013 Amanda Burcher
2012 Kate Zimmerman
2012 Margaret McCormack
2011 Adele Lane
2011 Rebecca McAlpine
2010 David Keselman
2010 Lesma Bartley